Club News


The International Arbitration Club of New York

announces its fifth annual competition for the


* * *


The Smit-Lowenfeld Prize is awarded annually by the International Arbitration Club of New York to recognize the outstanding article published in the previous year on any aspect of international arbitration. The Prize honors the late Hans Smit of Columbia Law School and Andreas F. Lowenfeld of New York University School of Law, both renowned scholars in international litigation and arbitration, well known arbitrators, and dearly missed members of this Club.

The 2013 Smit-Lowenfeld Prize was awarded to Stephen Fietta and James Upcher for their article "Public International Law, Investment Treaties and Commercial Arbitration: an emerging system of complementarity?", published in Arbitration International (Volume 29 Issue 2) in 2013 (click here for current and past winners).

Only articles published in English during the year 2014 will be considered for the 2014 Smit-Lowenfeld Prize. Articles should be submitted by email, in PDF format, to the International Arbitration Club of New York c/o Jennifer Permesly, at This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it . Questions may be directed to Ms. Permesly by email or at +1-212-257-6941. The deadline for receipt of submissions for the 2014 competition was April 30, 2015.

The winning article will be selected by a jury composed of members of the International Arbitration Club of New York. The winner of the Smit-Lowenfeld Prize will receive an honorarium of US$2500 to be presented at a ceremony in New York. The International Arbitration Club of New York considers articles submitted directly to the competition by the authors or their peers, as well as articles chosen through the Club’s survey of articles appearing in leading international journals. The winning article is chosen from those gathered through a two-phase winnowing process, involving close scrutiny by juries of members of the International Arbitration Club of New York. The articles are judged according to the following criteria: Originality of the subject matter or ideas developed therein; Quality of the writing style and expression; Significance of the piece to the field of international arbitration, and Scholarship, or the analytical rigor of the article and its contribution to existing scholarship. No weight is given as to where the article is published, the general popularity or acceptance of the article by others, or to the author’s reputation or standing.

Ms. Permesly will also accept articles published in the year 2015 on a rolling basis, which will be held for consideration until the 2015 competition is announced.


* * *


The International Arbitration Club of New York was formed in June of 2010 as a not-for-profit association and now comprises over 100 of the leading practitioners and scholars in the field of international arbitration who live or work in the New York City area. The Club holds regular meetings of its members to hear speakers from both within and outside of its membership. The Club was founded by a steering committee of James Carter, John Fellas, David Lindsey, Lawrence W. Newman (Chair), David Rivkin, and Robert Smit. More information concerning the International Arbitration Club of New York and its membership is available on its website,